Business as usual

I just finished buying a piece of furniture for my sound studio. I’m not sure what it’s called in english, but it will be a device that elevates the table on which my computer is placed. It will allow me work while standing up, and make it easier for me to move around from instrument to microphone to computer without having to sit down. I just work faster when I can move around unhindered.

I spoke with a couple of companies while looking for the product – the producer of this particular model was unavailable, no phone number, only an email address. Most distributors had issues with delivery, but I found two companies who had the product available. One of them gave the better offer – cheaper and no cost of delivery – Yes, please!

I’ll stray for a minute… As I try to build my company I become aware of the divide that exist between the corporate and private spheres. In most cases in my everyday life, everything I need is delivered to some place near where I live. I don’t have to travel very far to find ordinary stuff like food, clothes, tools, furniture, etc. It’s all within arms reach – literally. Things like food and clothes are produced and distributed by thousands of companies. If one company have problems, we rarely notice it because other foods and clothes will still be available for us. We might notice the big brands, but really if a couple of them went away it wouldn’t matter because so many other brands are alive and well. It would have very little impact on our daily lives. One might even argue that the dynamics of everyday life would be improved if a handful of brands died annually… as long as new companies and brands are formed and allowed to grow. To grasp what I’m talking about, think of how precious and insane life is in it’s cycle between birth and death. Now think of how restricted and stale life would be if no one died… if no one dies, our One-Planet-Existence would require tremendous population control… just like todays businesses that requires damage control.

Back to the subject at hand… The elevation-apparatus that I wanted is out of the ordinary. It has to be specially ordered. This is the divide I’m talking about. Everyday stuff is all around us, but special items have only one producer… and loads of distributors. Some companies – like Apple – control the prices of their product, while others don’t. This company doesn’t, and I went with the cheapest of their distributors one. I had to call the first distributor to tell them that they needn’t order the device, because I had found it elsewhere, at a cheaper price. As the guy hung up, I could hear the loathing in his voice for wasting his time. It shocked me a bit, but I decided not to call him up on it. It was nothing personal. Another company had a better price, thats all.

Leave a Reply

